The scale is driving me crazy & there is an awesome book out :)

5 Aug

I am someone who is chained to the scale.

It’s an obsession. I get up in the morning, stumble to the bathroom, and head to the scale before I’m even woken up. And that number dictates how I feel that day. Twice this week I’ve put the scale up in an attempt to break this bad habit, and twice I have brought it back out. I’ve read so many blogs written by women just like me who were obsessed with that number, but now are not. Alot of them don’t even own scales. I’d like to be that way some day, and not even have a need to have scales..but I’m trying to lose weight. On one hand I feel like I need the scales so I can track my progress, and on the other I feel like I could just judge my weight loss on how I feel and how my clothes fit or don’t fit.

So, I’m thinking..instead of trying to cut myself off cold turkey..maybe I’ll cut my scale usage down. Right now I weigh myself every. single. morning. I am going to try and weigh myself once a week..perhaps every Saturday morning. That way I don’t start my day off on that freaking number that drives me crazy. I know I shouldn’t let it, but I still do..and I’m still working on that.

On a semi-related note, have you seen all the posts about the Operation Beautiful book coming out?  The author has a healthy living blog (which is a great read and you should check it out) and she started Operation Beautiful to promote self-esteem and fight against body image issues. The idea of Operation Beauty is that you leave litte inspirational notes around places. For instance, on a scale you might leave one that says “That number does not define you. You are beautiful!” along with the URL to the website so those that see the note can go check it out. In turn, those that see that note may leave their own notes..and those that see those will leave some..and so on and so forth. It’s an amazing movement, and I am thrilled that it is getting exposure. I hope that book sells like crazy! Good luck, Caitlin!

 

14 Responses to “The scale is driving me crazy & there is an awesome book out :)”

  1. Tina August 5, 2010 at 7:02 PM #

    I’ve been there with the scale. I think trying to use it only once a week is a great step in the right direction. And then eventually you may even find yourself relying on it less and less. It is very liberating to not depend on.

  2. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self August 5, 2010 at 11:47 PM #

    A little while ago I wrote a blog post called “The Great Scale Debate.” The comments section includes many different viewpoints from all sides of the discussion – those who never weigh themselves, those who do every day, and those who are somewhere in the middle. You should check it out! It definitely shows that there’s no single right way to have a healthy relationship with the scale; you just have to figure out what works for you!

    http://www.healthforthewholeself.com/2010/07/the-great-scale-debate/

    • April August 6, 2010 at 12:37 AM #

      Wow, thank you so much for linking me to that! It amazes me sometimes to realize there are so many women out there that have the same ‘issues’ that I do, you know?

  3. SheFit August 6, 2010 at 4:40 AM #

    I’ve had to get rid of the scale in my house. I was so tired of letting a piece of metal control my moods. It just wasnt worth it

    • April August 6, 2010 at 12:58 PM #

      You’re right, it’s totally not worth it.

  4. elaine @ Om Sweet Om August 6, 2010 at 6:14 AM #

    i don’t remember the last time i’ve stepped on my scale. it’s dusty and tucked away in a corner in the bathroom.

    • April August 6, 2010 at 12:57 PM #

      That is awesome. I hope to be like you some day!

  5. eatmovewrite August 6, 2010 at 2:37 PM #

    You need to tape an OP Beautiful note to your scale!!!! This is precisely why I don’t own a scale, by the way. :)

    • April August 6, 2010 at 2:40 PM #

      Now that is a fabulous idea! :-D

  6. Melissa B. August 6, 2010 at 2:52 PM #

    Healthy living. THAT’s my goal. Let’s see if I can stick to it. SITS sent me by, and I’m glad they did!

    OBX Real Estate

  7. April August 6, 2010 at 3:04 PM #

    Thanks for stopping by! I love it when people say they are glad they found my blog :) Good luck on your healthy living journey!

  8. Mary @ Bites and Bliss August 6, 2010 at 4:44 PM #

    Remember the scale only gives you a number. That number can flucuate 5 lbs in one day..plus it says nothing about how much muscle you have or anything like that. I weigh more than I did a few months ago but I’m much slimmer since I’ve been weight training. That was actually the first time I weighed myself in months. I used to be a slave to the scale as well until I learned numbers are only numbers. That being said, if you’re trying to lose weight..the scale can keep you on track. But try weighing yourself one a week. That’ll give you a better “average” since you’ll get a steadier weight rather than it constantly flucuating. Plus, it’ll help ween you off :)

    • April August 6, 2010 at 4:59 PM #

      Thanks, Mary! :)

      I’m definitely going to try to only weigh in once a week. I totally agree, I think that will give me a better idea of my progress and also help me to stop obsessing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

